top of page

Mitchell High School Alumni Association

The Tiger's Den

Mitchell High School, Memphis, TN



Mitchell High School Alumni Association (MHSAA), Inc.

ATT: Scholarship Committee Chairperson 

P.O. Box 9156

Memphis, TN 38109


 Dear Prospective Scholarship Recipient: 


The Mitchell High School Alumni Association, Inc. (MHSAA) is presenting its 2024 scholarship application to all 2023-2024 future graduates of Mitchell High School. Applicants must complete the following items on or before March 19, 2024:


  1. Completed application.

  2. 500-word typewritten essay, double space, font size 12, Topic: “Who Am I?” (Hand-written essays will NOT be accepted.) 

  3. At least two letters of recommendation as stated on applications. 


Take all completed applications (with attachments) to Mr. Rodney Jackson for MHSAA Scholarship Committee Chair to pick-up or email completed applications (with attachments) to MHSAA Scholarship Committee Chair at


If you have any questions, please contact Mrs. Brenda Crawford, (901) 623-3841.


Criteria for Applicants:

  • Completed senior classes at Mitchell and be a 2024 graduate of Mitchell.

  • Grade Point Average (GPA) of 2.0 and above

  • Acceptance into a 2-year or 4-year accredited institution, trade school, arts college, cosmetology, barber school, automobile mechanics, technology college, pharmaceutical, medical college, or vocational school. A copy of the acceptance letter should accompany the application if the student has already applied.


Best wishes for a life of success,


Mrs. Brenda Crawford, MHSAA 

Scholarship Chairperson and the Scholarship Committee Team

MHSAA 2024 Scholarship Application
Download PDF • 166KB



School History

Mitchell High School, also known as Mitchell Road High School, is a public 9-12 school in Memphis, Tennessee.


Mitchell Road High School was built in 1957 and is located at 658 Mitchell Road in South Memphis.  The first graduating senior class was the distinguished class of 1961.


Mitchell High was rebuilt and is presently a modern facility with the latest technology to aid in providing a quality education for our students.

Untitled design.png

MHSAA Mission

To promote the participation and involvement in the association through activities that enhance the educational growth and financial stability of Mitchell High School and its Alumni.

Mitchell High School Alumni Association, Inc. (MHSAA) was founded by concerned graduates of Mitchell High School in 2007 and included graduates from the first class as well as those that have followed.

Membership is open to all who have attended the school in past years; graduates and non-graduates.  


MHSAA provides top-notch services to former and current students of Mitchell High School as well as to the community at largea combination that can't be beat! Through our commitment, experience and expertise, Mitchell High School Alumni Association, Inc. has established a genuine relationship with our community that will last a lifetime!

Officers & Board

Officers & Board Members


  • President—Toleda Farris-Burton (1984)

  • Vice-President—Bessie Millon-Shannon (1986)

  • Treasurer—Pam Hibler (1974)

  • Assistant Treasurer—Brenda Boyd-Wofford (1982)

  • Secretary—Menecca Monger-Parham (1995)

  • Assistant Secretary—Angela Blakely (1980)

  • Historian—Rubin Campbell, Sr. (1970)

  • Parliamentarian—Stanley Lipford (1970) 


  • Tyler M. Moore, Jr.Chair (1973)

  • Dr. Carolyn Jackson (1962)

  • Alan Myers (1970)

  • C. Shaun Campbell (1993)

  • Bessie Shannon (1986)

  • Louise Marshall Smith (1969)

  • Lethelea Grayer (1971)

  • Janet D. Booker ( 1978)

bottom of page